Skip links

Kolkata Knight Riders Win Third IPL Title, Defeat SunRisers Hyderabad by Eight Wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won their third IPL title, beating SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) by eight wickets in the IPL 2024 final at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday.

Twelve years after winning their first title at the same venue against the Chennai Super Kings, KKR, led by Shreyas Iyer, dominated SRH in a one-sided contest.

After Sunrisers skipper Pat Cummins opted to bat first on a red-soil surface, Kolkata struck early with Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora removing their dangerous openers. Starc bowled Sharma in the first over, and Arora dismissed Head for a third duck in four innings, allowing KKR to seize complete momentum.

SRH were reduced to 113 in 18.3 overs – the lowest score in an IPL final – before the Knights cruised to victory in a breezy chase. Led by Venkatesh Iyer’s quickfire fifty off 24 balls, KKR defeated SunRisers for the third time this season.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.