Skip links

Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana to Host ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Semi-Finals

The dates, teams, and venues have been confirmed for the knockout stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Trinidad and Tobago will host the first semi-final between South Africa and Afghanistan, while India and England will battle it out in the second knockout contest in Guyana.

South Africa topped Group 2 in the Super Eight stage and will aim to maintain their unbeaten status in the tournament when they face Afghanistan at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday.

Afghanistan secured their spot in the final four by defeating Bangladesh in the last game of the Super Eights in St Vincent. After posting 115/5 in the first innings, Afghanistan bowled out Bangladesh for 105 in a rain-affected game, winning by 8 runs (DLS method).

The second semi-final will take place in Guyana on Thursday, featuring unbeaten India against reigning T20 World Cup champions England.

India clinched their semi-final spot with an impressive victory over Australia on Monday and will face Jos Buttler’s side in a rematch of their previous encounter at the most recent T20 World Cup in Australia, two years ago.

England triumphed with a 10-wicket win over India at the Adelaide Oval during their journey to securing their second Men’s T20 World Cup title.

Semi-final schedule:

First semi-final:
South Africa vs. Afghanistan
Wednesday, June 26
Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Tarouba, Trinidad and Tobago
6:00 AM Sri Lanka Time

Second semi-final:
India vs. England
Thursday, June 27
Guyana National Stadium, Guyana
8:00 PM Sri Lanka Time

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.