Skip links

Debate on No-Confidence Motion Against Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena Scheduled for March 19th and 20th

The motion of no confidence brought against Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena is set to be debated in Parliament on March 19th and 20th, with a subsequent vote to be conducted.

According to the General Secretary of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), Ranjith Madduma Bandara, this decision was reached during today’s meeting of the Committee on Parliamentary Business, chaired by the Speaker.

The vote on the no-confidence motion is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. on March 20th (Wednesday).

The motion, handed over to the Deputy General Secretary of Parliament on March 5th, was signed by 44 parliamentarians, including Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa, Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella, and several other MPs.

The no-confidence motion alleges that the Speaker ignored the Supreme Court’s recommendations regarding certain sections of the Online Safety Bill and allowed its passage without a vote. Additionally, it accuses the Speaker of unconstitutionally using his decisive vote to confirm the appointment of IGP Deshabandu Tennakoon, despite divided opinions within the Constitutional Council.

The motion also highlights instances where the Speaker allegedly disregarded parliamentary procedures, further fueling the opposition’s discontent.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.