Skip links

Deputy Speaker Announces Replacement of COPE Members Amid Resignations

Deputy Speaker Ajith Rajapakse has disclosed that respective parties have been informed to nominate alternative Members of Parliament to fill the vacancies left in the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) due to recent resignations.

Rajapakse emphasized that the notifications issued do not outline the actions taken in response to the resignations of the re-appointed COPE members. He noted that this situation marks the first occurrence of its kind within the COPE framework.

Regarding the response to these resignations, Rajapakse indicated that discussions will be held in the future.

Thus far, 10 MPs have stepped down from COPE following the controversial appointment of Rohitha Abeygunawardena as Chairman.

The MPs who have tendered their resignations include Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Duminda Dissanayake, Wasantha Yapa Bandara, S. M. Marikkar, Eran Wickramaratne, Shanakiyan Rasamanickam, Professor Charitha Herath, Dayasiri Jayasekera, Gamini Waleboda, and Hesha Vithanage.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.