Skip links

Parliament Extends No-Confidence Motion Debate Against Speaker to Three Days

During the meeting of the Committee on Parliamentary Business, a decision was made to extend the debate on the no-confidence motion against the Speaker of Parliament from two to three days.

Consequently, Parliament will engage in discussions on the motion of no confidence for three consecutive days starting today, with the vote scheduled for 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 21.

Initially, the committee had planned to allocate two days, Tuesday (19) and Wednesday (20), for debating the motion against Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, with the debate already underway this morning.

The motion, submitted by the opposition and officially received by the Deputy General Secretary of Parliament on March 05, has garnered signatures from 44 parliamentarians, including Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa, Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella, and several other MPs.

The no-confidence motion accuses the Speaker of disregarding Supreme Court recommendations concerning various sections of the Online Safety Bill, allowing its passage without a vote, and allegedly manipulating a decisive vote to confirm the appointment of IGP Deshabandu Tennakoon, among other allegations.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.