Skip links

Sri Lanka Cricket Announces Dates for Lanka Premier League 2024

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has officially declared that the fifth edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2024 is scheduled to take place from July 1 to 21. The eagerly anticipated tournament will showcase a five-team competition, featuring a total of 24 games.

The tournament structure includes 20 matches in the first round and four matches in the final round, comprising Qualifier-1 and 2, and the Eliminator. Each team is mandated to have a roster of a minimum of 20 players and a maximum of 24 players, with the flexibility to include up to six overseas players.

The inaugural edition of the LPL in 2020 featured five franchises: Colombo Kings, Dambulla Viikings, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions, and Kandy Tuskers. Jaffna Stallions, later rebranded as Jaffna Kings, emerged victorious by defeating Galle Gladiators in the final.

The format remained consistent with five teams in the second edition in 2021, although the Dambulla Viikings underwent a rebranding as Dambulla Giants. Jaffna Kings, led by Thisara Perera, successfully defended their title in a final against Galle Gladiators.

The third edition of the tournament saw the introduction of the Kandy Falcons, replacing the Kandy Tuskers. Jaffna Kings continued their dominance, securing a historic third consecutive title by defeating Colombo Kings in a thrilling final.

In the fourth edition, a new franchise, B-Love Kandy, emerged as champions by defeating Dambulla Aura in the final by five wickets.

Cricket enthusiasts can look forward to another exciting edition of the Lanka Premier League, where the nation’s top talent, along with international stars, will vie for supremacy in the T20 format.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.